The challenge and satisfaction of problem solving is inspiring my returner journey

Introduction

I'm a 43 year old mum to my son who is off to school this September for the first time. I studied computer science at Leeds University and went to work for SAS Institute. Since then my career has been fairly technical with most of the focus on SAS coding. Most recently I have had a 2.5 year career break spending time with my son.

As a family we love music, swimming, doing lego, spending time outdoors, boating on our narrowboat and gardening.

In my spare time I enjoy the great outdoors, boating on our narrowboat and gardening, I also volunteer with the Waterway Recovery Group restoring Britain's canals and I am also trustee and secretary for a local charity.

Experience

During my degree and my career I've had exposure to various technologies using several different databases and SQL; connecting to databases; various programming languages; interacting between a web-front end and a SAS server; Microsoft Office (extensive use of Excel); running SAS on a multi-tier platform; test management systems.

My exposure might not have resulted in deep understanding of particular items but my knowledge of a big picture is quite strong.

Why a career in Tech

I love the challenge of trying to solve a problem and the satisfaction you get when your application is doing what you want it to do.

Transferable Skills

Technical documentation writing, book keeping, project version control, project management support, test management, conflict management, mentoring